I wrote the title for this post over a week ago and have not had the time to get back to it. Ah, the irony.

I really don’t have time to be writing this now because I have a midterm to be studying for, but writing this blog makes me happy and so I am making the time.

One of the over-arching themes of my life seems to be that my needs are always met, but I rarely experience excess. This is not just a financial thing; it involves how much patience I have, how clean my floors are, how long I get to sleep, how much time I have to study. I have been thinking a lot about this lately and trying to be content in the circumstances that I find myself in right here, right now. This, I have found, is a challenging thing. There are always people who have nicer houses (that they actually own!), more cars, a higher income, a cooler career, and those that can run, bike or swim faster and longer than me. There are people in my yoga class that can actually hold that damn standing bow pose for the whole time, but guess what happens when I think about them instead of focusing on my pose? I fall out sooner and harder. Same for when I think about people who have more of…whatever it is…when I focus on them I am dissatisfied with me, but when I actually can get myself to stop comparing I see more clearly and realize that I am exactly where I need to be. I may not like it, but there is a reason I can’t hold the bow pose and I need to be mindful and focus on the process–on the being–and not jump ahead too quickly to the result. Tricky business this, and I am grateful when I get a reminder to stop being so unsatisfied with where I am in life

This morning after yoga I was filling up my water bottle at sink. There is a very nice filtered water system at the studio, but I choose tap water. I am sure the filtered water is very healthy, but I l live in a place where all the water that I could ever want or need is right there available without any effort on my part for retrieval and the filtered bit seems like an unnecessary excess to me. As I was thinking about this as I do every time I fill up my water bottle it struck me; my needs are always met. I may not get what I want, but I always have enough. How incredibly wonderful is that? I am so privileged to be born into such a safe and secure part of the word–what a gift.  I am sure I will find something that I am dissastisfied with soon enough, but I want to hold onto this knowledge that I, my friends, have it pretty good and that I should stop comparing my garden to other people’s gardens and just enjoy all of the flowers!

Be Content with what you have; rejoice in the way things are. When you realize there is nothing lacking, the whole world belongs to you. Lao Tzu
