Today I turned 42. I have long loved the number 42; ever since, as a teenager,  I read Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams. The idea that the answer to “life, the universe and everything” is 42 was compelling. There are so much significance to the number 42 in so many religions, cultures and even science. Then I turned the page and discovered that the real issue–what was the question?

To this I have no answer, but you should google it and see what you find.

For me, for this blog, I have two goals. In this year I want to try 42 completely new things. Yes, I know this number doesn’t correspond to days or weeks or months in a year or any other neat or tidy reference point, but my life is neither neat nor tidy (as the state of my kitchen and my checking account can attest). My second goal is to explore what The Question is for me. It won’t be all that profound and it will definitely be a bit messy, but it will be The Question for me, which brings us right back round to the answer.

This year in my life, universe and everything I am going to run a triathlon. I am going to inch a few classes closer to finishing my psych degree. I am going to find a job I really love. I am going to finally be able to hold bow pose until the very end. I am going to run faster. I am going to forgive myself for not loving every minute of mothering, but be the best mom I can for as many minutes possible. I am going to stop and make play-do because my 7 yr old asks me. I am going to pick up the phone and actually call the friend I have been thinking about all day. I am going to get out of bed as soon as I wake up instead of lie there and wish I was asleep. I am going to say “yes” to things that are good for me and “no” to things I don’t want to do even if it displeases someone else.  I am going to see “42” as the last two digits on the scale–yes, you really are that smart; you can figure out my goal weight and let me tell you it will be all muscle! And I am going to blog about it. Mostly, in this 42nd year of my life, I am going to try as hard as I can to practice mindfulness and to simply be in the moment–to be in my life, my universe and embrace my everything. 

At the risk of this getting impossibly corny, I am sure that at about 5.5 km into a 10 km run I won’t be in the moment, I shall be cursing the fact that I though that it would be a good idea to run 10 km at -10C. Ditto for holding the bow pose. I am already feeling overwhelmed with my course load and even though I want to complete a triathlon this year, I actually haven’t ridden more the 3km on a bike–ever. But for now at the dawn of my 42nd year I can be a bit lofty, stay tuned for when it gets real.

 

